Making $200k from my podcast

The real ROI of podcasting and how to duplicate my results

I made over $200,000 from a single podcast episode by capitalizing on the true ROI of podcasting: a mutually beneficial relationship.

(And I’ll explain how it worked for me at the end…)

Podcasts are a shortcut to building a powerful network.

And it's dead simple: invite people you'd love to partner with on your show.

You lead with reciprocity.

A Copy-Paste Template to Invite Awesome Guests

Position the invite like this 👇️

"Hey X, huge fan of [work they've done]. It helped me [personal benefit].

I host a show called [pod name] — and I'd love to have you on.

You'd be joining guests like [relevant name]. And I really want my audience of [#,###] to hear straight from you.

Have anything you're working on that you'd like to promote? Like a book, conference, or resources?

My audience is [describe your audience]. Totally aligned with your work.

I've got a couple sessions open [date] or [date].

Either work for you?

Talk soon,

[Your Name]

P.S. Check out this 60s clip from [episode] with [guest] to get a feel. You'll love it."

Then, just keep doing this over and over. Getting progressively higher profile guests.

It's rocket fuel for your brand. And is the true ROI of podcasting.

How I Made the $200k

Now let’s close the loop.

I made over $200,000 on a podcast episode that aired about 5 years ago.

My guest was a CEO from the U.K. and we hit it off. She was insightful, helpful, and warm. And on her end, she said she loved how well-researched and sharp I was. (Her words, not mine. Scout’s honor!)

A couple of months later, I started Story Chorus.

Because I had done her a favor, kept in touch, and was top-of-mind, her company became one of our first clients.

We work together to this day.

And it all started with a single episode that has yielded remarkable results.

Now, your ROI might not be dollars. It may be new connections, open stages, or opportunities.

The point remains: capitalize on relationships to win with your podcast.

— Jordan

P.S. Don’t have a podcast but want one? We launched a service called Creator Brand where we help you launch and scale your podcast into a full-fledged media brand. You can schedule a chat here if you’re interested in working with our team. (Engagements start at $5k/mo.)