Room at the Table

Finding the Courage to Write a Book About Your Life

I was in a boardroom alone with a trained killer.

What he said changed my life...

Tom was a former CIA operative who had done some things. The kind of things he’d have to put me to sleep for if he told me.

Though he was warm, he had Jason Bourne vibes.

I was both excited and nervous to interview him for a book I was working on.

But before I could begin my line of questioning, Tom stopped me.

“Jordan, I gotta be honest. I’m pretty nervous about this.”

My head jerked up from my notes.

“What?” I asked. “You’re nervous for… my questions?”

He rubbed his shoulder. A nervous tick.

“Honestly, yes. I’m just not sure I have anything interesting or of value to contribute. So many other leaders have offered better advice than I ever could hope to. I guess I’m just worried no one’s going to care about what I have to say.”

^ this actually happened.

A CIA operative who had seen more real-world action than most of us will in ten lifetimes had imposter syndrome.

This cool, calm, competent secret agent was scared about what others would think.

If you’ve ever felt like this, I have good news for you…

You’re in good company.

Even the Best Face Imposter Syndrome

Every leader I’ve ever worked on a book with has shared similar insecurities with me.

“Who am I to help anyone?”

“What do I have to offer?”

“What if I spill my guts and no one cares?”

For most, apathy toward your book is worse than outright rejection.

Because it feels like people aren’t judging your work—they’re judging you.

I devoted a lot of my work to helping authors overcome this. And I have to do it myself.

Here’s how I overcome it.

Room at the Table

Imagine a table with a dozen or so people.

There is one empty chair, and your name is on the card in front of it.

No one else can sit in that chair.

It’s yours.

No one else has walked your journey.

No one else has your voice.

And those people are waiting, right now, for you.

They need you to share.

  • Their marriages depend on it…

  • Their health depends on it…

  • Their family depends on it…

  • Their power to choose life in dark moments depends on it…

  • Their future depends on it…

Your story is like a canvas.

It’s the backdrop that helps your audience make sense of the world. Of themselves.

Something about how you talk… the stories you share… your life experience… will reach them in a way no one else can.

Focus on the few people who need you.

Forget about all the others.

No matter how small you think your story is, I know someone who fed thousands with a little boy’s lunch of 5 loaves and 2 fish.

There is room at the table for you.

The chair is open.

After a similar conversation, Tom, our CIA friend, took his chair.

And it was magnificent.

Now my friend, will you take your place?