Content Templates for Social Media (and more...)

Use these 3 templates to create faster and share higher-performing content. Never get stuck again.

Summary: use content templates to write or record high-performing content in 1/10 of the time

Read time: ~5 mins

Resources:→ The Hardest Lesson template→ The Helpful Expert template→ The Contrarian Perspective template

If you find yourself wondering:

  • What should I write?

  • What should I record?

  • What do I have to say?

This edition is your BFF.

The blank page is a creator's worst nightmare.

Use content templates as your secret weapon.

Here are 3 of my favorites.

Template #1: The Hardest Lessons

You can use this one in about 1,000 different ways.

With this template, you'll share specific lessons you've learned about topics you want to be known for:

↓↓↓

Today, I looked a {X} years old person in the mirror.

{He/she's} grown a lot.

Here are {X} lessons I learned the hard way so you don't have to 👇

1 - {Single sentence advice}2 - {Single sentence advice}3 - {Single sentence advice}4 - {Single sentence advice}5 - {Single sentence advice}

Life gets better the more I grow.

I'll never forget what {smart person} said:

"{Insightful quote about living well}."

Here's how I used it this morning:

Today, I looked at a 35-year-old guy in the mirror.

It was me 😎

He's grown a lot.

Here are 7 lessons I've learned the hard way, so you don't have to 👇

1 - Ignoring my health to achieve success erases the gains I make.

2 - Opportunities attach themselves to high-quality people; expand your network.

3 - Actions show your real values (not what you say).

4 - If you hate your job, change it.

5 - Procrastination is a check engine light that can help you change.

6 - Relationship with spouse > than any other (outside of God).

7 - Fear-based living keeps you selfish and playing small.

Life gets better the more I grow.

I'll never forget what Aristotle said:

"You are what you repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit."

Take 2 minutes with a blank piece of paper.

What mistakes repeat themselves in your life?

Draw two columns.

→ What mistakes repeat themselves in your life?

→ How can you set yourself up for success to stop making them?

Do this, and your life gets 100x better.

Grateful to be on the journey with you all ✌️

— Me on Facebook

Template #2: The Helpful Expert

Use a humble-brag for credibility.

Don't be afraid to toot your horn a little.

Self-promotion ≠ pride if you're here to help.

↓↓↓

Want to grow in {topic}?

In {X} years, I've achieved {"wow" achievements}.

I still have to pinch myself sometimes.

The secret? I do the same thing every time!

{Technique}: Name

How it works:

{Step 1}{Step 2}{Step 3}

Try it today. Win tomorrow.

It really is that simple.

Template #3: The Contrarian Perspective

What unique perspective do you have on a topic that goes against the grain?

This makes you different. And sets you up as a lighthouse of wisdom in a sea of sameness.

If you can help people question status quo advice, you become the go-to source they can't find anywhere else.

↓↓↓

A few controversial things I believe about {topic}:

{Strong opinion #1 in a single sentence}.

I'm not saying {subtle distinction}.

I'm just saying {clarifying statement}.

{Strong opinion #2 in a single sentence}.

A lot of "gurus" say {cliché advice}.

This is a myth that leads to...

{Failure example}{Failure example}{Failure example}

{Cliché advice} is a shortcut to {bad outcome}.

{Strong opinion #3 in a single sentence}.

Chasing {outcome} is an unhelpful goal.

Because {unconventional reason}.

{Unique outcome} is a better goal to chase.

{Reason why}.

{Humorous wrap up}.

Here's how I'm using this one next week:

A few controversial things I believe about writing books:

1️⃣ Peoples' "short" attention spans aren't to blame for lackluster success.

I'm not saying people don't have short attention spans today.

We do... like 1.7 seconds.

I'm just saying no one has a hard time binging their fave show on Netflix for 5 hours.

It's not attention spans — it's boring or irrelevant content that's to blame :)

2️⃣ Don't write what's on your heart alone.

A lot of "gurus" say just be authentic and write what you want to.

This is a myth that leads to work that goes unread.

Just because it's interesting to you, does it mean it's helpful to others.

Look at what questions people are *actually* asking.

Meet them where they're at.

3️⃣ Writing a book to make money on sales = setup for sadness.

Selling books won't make you rich.

Chasing bestseller lists is an unhelpful goal.

Because most books sell less than 500 copies.

^^^ this represents about $2,000 over 5 years.

Publishing an insanely helpful book to market products/services is a better goal to chase.

I made over $100,000 from my last book even though it's only sold ~1,000 copies.

How?

It grew my company.

Thanks for coming to my TED talk 😎

P.S. Want to write a successful book but don't know where to start? Join 100s of other creators in my free newsletter, The Creator's Playbook. Link in comments.

— Me on LinkedIn next week

Templatize Your Best Stuff

Those templates work well.

Use them!

But don't forget to look at your best-performing content on your socials, blog, emails, podcasts, etc.

Find the common denominators and templatize them.

Test and see if you can repeat the magic.

You'll find some gems — because you're smart, insightful, and helpful.

Find that formula and keep using it until it stops working.

Templates = shortcuts to consistency and growth.

These don't replace all of your content. But they're great prompts to get you started.

Until next time!

— Jordan